1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Trinity
  4. Saptaṛṣis (Seven Sages): ...
  5. Maha Rishi Angiras

Maha Rishi Angiras

Sage Angiras is generally considered older than Sage Kanva. Sage Angiras is often regarded as one of the Saptaṛṣis (Seven Sages) who played important roles in the creation and preservation of the universe.

While Sage Angiras is generally regarded as older in terms of his association with the ancient Vedic tradition and his prominence in mythological narratives, time, space, and context may again give contradictions even with only mythological considerations. Sage Angiras is considered one of the Saptaṛṣis, or the Seven Sages, who are revered in Sanathana Dharma. The other six sages in this group are Marichi, Atri, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, and Vashishtha.

How can we help?